Image 1

O'Carolan's Dream


Genre: Solo Violin with String Orchestra
# of Players: 8-8-5-5-5 + 1
Level: 3 | Duration: 4:30
Publisher: C. Alan Publications | Copyright: 2013

Click on images to left for score sample

Item #:
Notes & Instrumentation
Related Products
Also Viewed
Other Details
  • Notes & Instrumentation

    This lovely arrangement for solo violin and full orchestra weaves together several themes by Irish harpist and composer Turlough O'Carolan. Bring in guest soloists or showcase your own students in this delightful tribute to one of Ireland's most coveted treasures.

    Genre: Solo Violin with String Orchestra | # of Players: 8-8-5-5-5 + 1
    Level: 3 | Duration: 4:30

    Solo Violin

    Flute 1
    Flute 2
    Oboe 1
    Oboe 2
    B-flat Clarinet 1
    B-flat Clarinet 2
    Bass Clarinet

    F Horn 1
    F Horn 2
    F Horn 3
    B-flat Trumpet 1
    B-flat Trumpet 2
    B-flat Trumpet 3
    Trombone 1
    Trombone 2
    Bass Trombone

    Percussion 1 (snare drum, bass drum)
    Percussion 2 (suspended cymbal, crash cymbals, triangle)
    Percussion 3 (xylophone, bells) Violin I Violin II Viola Cello Bass

    Program Notes
    Turlough O'Carolan (1670-1738) was a blind Celtic harpist who is Ireland's most famous composer. Blinded by smallpox at the age of eighteen, he was apprenticed to a harper; then at the age of twenty-one, he was given a horse and some money to start his career as an itinerant musician, often naming his tunes for the patrons he stayed with. He had a great sense of humor and temper, and was known to have enjoyed drinking and fighting. Over 200 of his single-line melodies survive, three of which are featured in this arrangement: Sheebeg and Sheemor, Lord Inchiquin and George Brabazon. Gackstatter has also arranged O'Carolan's beautiful ballad Bridget Cruise for band.

  • Product Reviews


    This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

    Write A Review