Image 1

New Millennium, Different World, New Beginnings


Genre: Band
# of Players: Standard
Level: 5 | Duration: 10:00
Publisher: C. Alan Publications | Copyright: 2004

Click on images to left for score sample

Item #:
Notes & Instrumentation
Related Products
Also Viewed
Other Details
  • Notes & Instrumentation

    Reflecting significant events of the beginning of the 21st century, New Millennium, Different World, New Beginnings is a tour de force. The 1st movement celebrates the turn of the century, the 2nd movement mourns the September 11, 2001 tragedy, and the 3rd movement looks forward for hope and new beginnings.

    Genre: Band | # of Players: Standard
    Level: 5 | Duration: 10:00

    Flute 1
    Flute 2
    Oboe 1/English Horn
    Oboe 2
    Bassoon 1
    Bassoon 2
    Bb Clarinet 1
    Bb Clarinet 2
    Bb Clarinet 3
    Bass Clarinet
    Bb Contrabass Clarinet
    Eb Alto Saxophone 1/2
    Bb Tenor Saxophone
    Eb Baritone Saxophone

    Bb Trumpet 1
    Bb Trumpet 2
    Bb Trumpet 3
    F Horn 1/2
    F Horn 3/4
    Trombone 1
    Trombone 2
    Bass Trombone
    (Baritone T.C.)

    String Bass

    (& Guiro)

    Percussion 1
    (bass drum, tam-tam, snare drum, woodblock, tambourine, timbales, small cowbell, suspended cymbal, claves)

    Percussion 2
    (bass drum, 4 concert toms, crash cymbals, temple blocks, suspended cymbal, vibraslap, vibraphone, slap stick, devil chaser, small shaker, tam-tam, suspended cymbal, 2 triangles w/water bowls, finger cymbals, orchestra bells, tambourine, conga drum, large hand drum)

    Percussion 3
    (chimes, vibraphone, xylophone, orchestra bells, claves, maracas, shaker)

    Program Notes
    New Millennium, Different World, New Beginnings is designed to be a musical timepiece reflecting significant events of the beginning of the twenty-first century. The opening movement, New Millennium, begins with an exploding brass and percussion fanfare symbolizing a new time in modern history. The music evokes the awe and magnitude of a new era as the year 2000 arrives in sequential order from time zone to time zone and celebration to celebration. The rumble of the percussion suggests the images of the spectacular fireworks displays that lit up the skies of many major cities worldwide. The second half of the movement paints a mosaic of celebrations. This section of the movement also develops into a ritual-like celebration as various cultures celebrate, in their own way, the beginning of a new millennium.

    The second movement, Different World, is a sobering look at the emotions and images of the aftermath of September 11, 2001, a day that created, in many people's minds, a different world. The most compelling scenes of post 9/11 to the composer were that of family members and friends frantically searching for loved ones only to have their hopes diminish day by day. For many, the long search ended in the painful realization that their loved one had perished in this horrible tragedy. The middle section of this movement includes a meditative melody the composer uses as a hymn reflecting faded hope. The emotion of the music eventually portrays a section of anger which, in turn, is rotated into a meditative prayer for the victims who have died and a hope for greater peace in this world.

    Despite human tragedy, humankind has always looked ahead for hope in the idea this world can be made better. The final movement, New Beginnings, reflects the acts of goodwill and generosity that, in their own individual ways, can and will have a positive impact on modern society. It is through these acts of munificence that we, as a prosperous people, can make a significant difference and provide a better life for the sake of all humankind. It is never too late for new beginnings from one generation of humankind to the next.

    In particular, this movement is a celebration of the generosity and goodwill of Donna and Marvin Schwartz, who have given unselfishly of themselves to create a new beginning for Emory University in the form of a new performing arts center. Composer Roger Cichy has incorporated the word-rhythm "Don-na and Mar-vin Schwartz" (a 7-syllable grouping) as the underlying nucleus throughout this movement. The beginning section of this movement highlights a melody based on a 7/8 meter. Further in the piece, the meter changes to 7/4 (still incorporating the rhythmic pulse of seven) and fuses a variety of cultural musical styles to create a sort of collage of cultural dynamics.

    - Roger Cichy

  • Product Reviews


    This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

    Write A Review

  • Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed